The Stark Award for Advanced Scholarship

Dstarkr. Frederick M. Stark grew up in St. Paul, Minnesota. He graduated from Yale University and the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1940. After completing a residency at the Mayo Clinic, he practiced neurology and psychiatry in Sioux City, Iowa from 1949 until he retired in 1982. He also taught part-time at the University of South Dakota School of Medicine from 1949-1972. Dr. Stark died on August 9, 2000.

Dr. Stark established The Frederick and Alice Stark Neuroscience Research Fund for students in the Neuroscience Graduate Program. He also endowed the Frederick and Alice Stark Neuroscience Chair, enabling the current chair holder, Horace Loh, Ph.D., to conduct internationally respected research in the fields of molecular neuropharmacology and biochemical pharmacology, focusing on what causes people to become addicted.

The goals of the Stark Award are to support students in the Graduate Program in Neuroscience

  1. During advanced training in a specific technique in a laboratory in the U.S. or abroad
  2. Training in a formal course such as those given at Woods Hole
  3. For travel to a small, specialty conference.


Application Material

Support for Advanced Training in a Technique:

1) A statement by the student describing the technique(s) that the student would like to learn, the reasons that learning the particular technique is important, the benefits of the technique to the student's research, the nearest laboratories in which the technique could be learned, the time necessary to learn the technique.

2) A statement by the advisor describing the potential importance of the technique for the student and the laboratory in which the student works.

3) A letter from the director of the laboratory in which the student wishes to learn the techniques stating his or her willingness to teach the student the technique.

4) A summary of expenses including travel, accommodations, per diem, etc..

Support for Attendance in a Formal Course:

1) A statement by the student including a description of what he or she hopes to learn in the course, why the information will be important to his or her training, the dates and location of the course, an estimate of all expenses involved in taking the course including registration, accommodations, travel, per diem, etc..

2) A brochure or statement from the organizers of the course describing the content of the course.

3) The student's transcripts and a description of the students research interests and progress.

Support for Travel to a Specialty Conference:

1) A description of the conference including a statement regarding the relevance of the material to the student's training.

2) If the student is presenting a paper at the conference, a copy of the abstract should be included.

3) A statement by the student's advisor(s) regarding the meeting and its significance to the student.

4) A summary of expenses including travel, accommodations, per diem, etc..

Please Note: In order to distribute funds equitably, individual students will be eligible to receive only one Stark Award to support travel to a conference during their graduate studies.

Support for Students who Work in Laboratories that have Temporarily Lost National Funding:

1) A statement of need by the student's advisor(s).
2) A description of progress of research by the student.
3) Graduate student transcripts.

Evaluation Process

In almost all cases, the Awards Committee will review an application within two weeks of its submission

Students should try to apply for the Stark Award at least 6 weeks before the meeting they wish to attend. This will provide enough time for the committee to make a decision. Students who anticipate needing funds in a shorter period time should consult the chair of the Awards Committee Jonathan Gewirtz (


Zoe Christenson-Wick
Kellie Gross
Justin Lines
Vivek Nagaraj

Caitlyn Durkee
Anna Ingebretson
Katie Tonn

Samuel Cramer
Emily Leathley
Craig Moodie
Kelsey Moore
Brittni Peterson
Marc Pisansky
Nate Powell
Paul Regier
Michael-Paul Schallmo
Martha Streng

Rachael Blackman
Andrew Wikenheiser

Kyle Biesecker
Angela Hewitt
Aaron Lambert
Anja Srienc
Adam Steiner

Maureen Handoko
Tess Kornfield
Jose San Miguel Ruiz
Hannah Moser
Daniel Schuster
Laura Stone
Tim Wiggin
Natalie Zlebnik

Stacy Decker
Marcos Kuroki
Katrina Schrode
Robert Shannon
Anja Srienc
Rachel Penrod

Krista Bluske
Ben Clark
Nancy Day
Eric Gustafson
Blaine Schneider
Tiffany Schmidt
Steve Sullivan
Marc Parent
Britta Veitenheimer

Justin Barnes
Dan Franc
Anusha Mishra
Meredith Noetzel
Tou Yia Vue

Joanna Abrams
Steve Davidson
Bonnie Marsick
Patrick Rothwell

Terence Burns
Katherine Himes
Adam Johnson

Michelle Arnhold
Jessica Lynch

Amy MacDonald
Andrew Thorpe
Scott Gehler
Nathan Connors
J.P Clark

Murray Blackmore
Joseph Fullmer
Therissa Libby

Stanislav Kholmanskikh
Robert Raike
Nathan Jorgensen